The CRC-EC Joint International Symposium on Chemical Theory for Complex Systems was successfully completed. We sincerely appreciate lecturers, session chairs, participants, and all the contributors in the symposium!
  Success in designing efficient catalysts for scientifically and technologically important processes (such as water oxidation, nitrogen fixation, inert C-H bond functionalization, to name only a few) requires an atomistic level understanding of fundamental principles of the catalysis. Advances in designing homogenous, heterogeneous, as well as immobilized catalysts require state-of-the-art multidisciplinary approaches and true collaboration of scientists across the disciplines. The use of modern Computational/Theoretical approaches in close collaboration with state-of-the-art experiments is proven to be invaluable for shedding light on key principles of catalysis and knowledge-based design of more efficient catalysis. However, the complexity in vital catalytic processes that involve multiple components requires further developments of theoretical methodology for grealh systems. To promote knowledge-based catalysis designing the Catalysis Research Center (CRC) of Hokkaido University (Japan) and Emerson Center for Scientific Computation (EC) of Emory University (USA) are jointly organizing a symposium at Emory University on the gChemical Theory for Complex Systemsh. This symposium is designed to a have profound impact on the knowledge-based catalyst design and advanced computational/theoretical methodology.
  Keynote speakers
  William A. Goddard, III William H. Miller Keiji Morokuma George C. Schatz
  Plenary speakers
  Joel M. Bowman Hiroshi Nakatsuji Per E. M. Siegbahn Kazuo Takatsuka
  Koichi Yamashita Tom Ziegler
  Invited speakers
  Qiang Cui Francesco Evangelista Shigehiko Hayashi Rigoberto Hernandez
  James T. Kindt Akira Nakayama C. David Sherrill
Organizers: Catalysis Research Center, Hokkaido University, JAPAN
Emerson Center, Emory University, USA
Co-Organizer: Fukui Institute for Fundamental Chemistry (FIFC), Kyoto University
Co-Chairs: Shigeyoshi Sakaki (FIFC, Kyoto Univ.), Jamal G. Musaev (EC, Emory Univ.)
Kiyotaka Asakura (CRC, Hokkaido Univ.), Joel M. Bowman (Emory Univ.)
Organizing Committee: Kiyotaka Asakura (CRC, Hokkaido Univ.), Joel M. Bowman (Emory Univ.)
Francesco A. Evangelista (Emory Univ.), Jun-ya Hasegawa (CRC, Hokkaido Univ.)
James T. Kindt (Emory Univ.), Jamal G. Musaev (EC, Emory Univ.)
Shigeyoshi Sakaki (FIFC, Kyoto Univ.), Koichi Yamashita (Univ. Tokyo)
Co-Sponsors: Department of Chemistry (Emory Univ.), Microway Inc., Gaussian Inc.
The Hightower Foundation (Emory Univ.)
HPC Systems, Concurrent Systems
Contact information: Jun-ya Hasegawa
Catalysis Research Center, Hokkaido University, Japan
Phone: +81-11-706-9146, Fax: +81-11-706-9139
E-mail: iccrc (at)